Home Page

Welcome to Leigham Primary School and Nursery ...Creating curious, confident learners

Video Controls

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

At Leigham Primary School we believe that each unique child is entitled to an education that fosters a love of learning. With careful scaffolding, the ultimate aim is to create ambitious children who are self-motivated and want to achieve. Through working in partnership with parents/carers we strive to provide a secure foundation so that children can become successful life-long learners.




There are seven areas of learning and development that shape the educational programmes of the EYFS. These comprise of three prime areas and four specific areas. 

Prime Areas;

Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)

Communication and Language (CL)

Physical Development (PD)

Specific Areas:

Literacy (L)

Mathematics (M)

Understanding of the World (UW)

Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)


'The Learning Journey'

At Leigham we provide a mix of adult-led and child initiated learning opportunities. Every child is individual, therefore should be provided with a safe and secure learning environment (indoor and out) enriched with first hand and engaging opportunities which reflect their current interests and exact stage of development. To ensure that each child is provided with personalised learning, they complete a 'learning cycle' as follows:


All observation made on the children are available for parents/carers to view via the online learning journey, Tapestry.